DIY: Closet Makeover

In the last couple weeks 3 of my kiddos have headed off to school and with them went backpacks and lunch boxes. We never had that with homeschooling and every afternoon at 3 o’clock my back hallway fills up with all this stuff. I had to come up with a quick and simple solution, a small DIY project seemed like a good idea.  So I dugg up my vintage hooks from the basement that I snagged off Ebay years ago, emptied our hall closet and spent the day making it over. For under $40 we now have a fabulous backpack closet
and no more clutter in my hallway!

Supplies: 
select pine in 4 inch and 3 inch wide planks
(for board & batten)
leftover MDF for the baseboard
leftover kitchen flooring
molding for infront of the shelves
leftover kitchen paint in 2 colors
vintage hooks
paneling nails
liquid nails
paintable caulk

tools:
miter box 
hammer
level 
measuring tape
drill

I was so happy to get to this point in the project and hang up their backpacks!
Love quick 24 hour transformations that but a smile on your face and a bit of paint in the hair.
Happy Wednesday!

13 thoughts on “DIY: Closet Makeover

Leave a comment